The University of Tennessee University Libraries
A-Z Index  /  WebMail  /  Dept. Directory

Band Literature and Pedagogy

 

 

NOTE: This guide provides selective listings. There may be more materials available in these subject areas.

Always check the catalog, using subject headings suggested, or check the appropriate call number areas in the stacks.


RESEARCH HELP

INTERNET RESOURCES

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION NUMBERS

If you know the LC class number (call number) for a category of materials, you can go directly to the shelves to browse in that area.

  • M955-959 Wind ensembles
  • M1200-1268 Band music
  • M1270 Fife and drum, field music
  • M1420 Band music for children
  • ML1300--ML1354 History and criticism of band music
  • MT85 Conducting
  • MT733, 735, 810 Band music--Instruction and study

SUBJECT HEADINGS IN LIBRARY CATALOGS

Subject headings in library catalogs will help in finding books, scores, and sound recordings for which you do not have specific author, title, or performer information.

  • BAND MUSIC
  • BAND MUSIC--ANALYSIS, APPRECIATION
  • BAND MUSIC, ARRANGED
  • BANDS (MUSIC)
  • INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC--BIBLIOGRAPHY
  • INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC--INSTRUCTION AND STUDY
  • INSTRUMENTATION AND ORCHESTRATION (BAND)
  • MARCHING BANDS
  • MUSIC--COMPETITIONS
  • MUSICAL INSTRUMENTS--CONSTRUCTION
  • WIND ENSEMBLES
  • WIND INSTRUMENTS

PERIODICAL INDEXES

Music databases available on the Web:

  • International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
  • Music Index Online
  • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature

Related databases available on the Web:

  • Dissertation Abstracts
  • Education Full Text
  • ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
  • Humanities Abstracts
  • PsycINFO
  • Sociofile


IN THE REFERENCE ROOM

BIBLIOGRAPHIES & GRADED LISTS

Ref ML128.B23B36 1989
Band Music Guide
Ref ML128.B23I53 1996
Kvet, E. Instructional Literature for Middle-Level Band
Ref ML128.W5 G52 1998
Gillaspie, J. The Wind Ensemble Catalog
Ref ML128.W5S76 1997
Stoneham, M. Wind Ensemble Sourcebook and Biographical Guide
Ref ML132.A2D57 1988
Berg, C. The Director's Guide to Festival and Contest Music
Ref ML132.A2U62 1999 v.1
Band Prescribed Music List for School Years Beginning 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002
Ref ML132.B3D8 1993
Dvorak, T. Best Music for High School Band
Ref ML132.B3D85 2000
Dvorak, T. Best Music for Beginning Band

CURRENT PERIODICALS

  • American Music Teacher ML1.A55
  • Bulletin. Council for Research in Music Education ML1.C68
  • The Instrumentalist ML1.I5
  • The Journal of Band Research ML1300.A1J6
  • Journal of Research in Music Education ML1.J6
  • Music Educators Journal ML1.M24
  • Teaching Music ML1.T33
  • Tennessee Musician ML1.T4

DICTIONARIES & ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Ref ML102.B35R4 1991 v.1-3
Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music: Composers and their Music
Ref ML102.B35S54 2000
Smith, N. Program Notes for Band
Ref ML102.I5B34 1992
Oxford Companion to Musical Instruments
Ref ML102.I5N48 1984 v.1-3
New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments

DISCOGRAPHIES

Ref ML156.4.B3R4 1988
Rasmussen, R. Recorded Concert Band Music, 1950-1987
Ref ML156.2.S383 21st 2001
Schwann Artist / Consult by names of conductors or ensembles.

MUSIC in PRINT

The Music-In-Print Series listed on Music Databases page.
Band

 

MATERIALS BY TOPIC or FORMAT

BAND LIBRARIES & INSTRUMENT REPAIR

ML111.L4 (1974)
LeBlanc, A. Organizing the Instrumental Music Library
ML460.R35 2000
Rault, L. Musical Instruments: Craftsmanship and Traditions from Prehistory to the
Present
ML930.M5 (1973)
Meyer, R. The Band Director's Guide to Instrument Repair
ML930.M83 1982
Mueller, K. Complete Guide to the Maintenance and Repair of Band Instruments
ML930.T5 1976
Tiede, C. Practical Band Instrument Repair Manual
ML3805 .F58 1998
Fletcher, N. The Physics of Musical Instruments

CONDUCTING

ML457.J2
Jacobson, B. Conductors on Conducting (1979)
Video MT85.A78 1994 v.1-4
The Art of Conducting
MT85.B25 1990
Battisti, F. Guide to Score Study for the Wind Band Conductor
MT85.C75 1993
Conductor's Anthology: A Compendium of Articles from the Instrumentalist from 1946 to 1992....
MT85.E63 2001
Erdmann, R. Problems and Solutions in Band Conducting
MT85.G785 1997
Green, E. The Modern Conductor
MT85.L24 1989
Labuta, J. Basic Conducting Techniques
MT85.P52 1997
Phillips, K. Basic Techniques of Conducting
MT85.P72 1983
Pravsnitz, F. Score & Podium
MT85.R8 1994
Rudolph, M. The Grammar of Conducting: A Comprehensive Guide to Baton Technique

HISTORY & PERFORMANCE

Ref ML82.H36 (1981)
Hardy, D. Black Women in American Bands and Orchestras
ML82 .M24 2001
Macleod, B. Women Performing Music: The Emergence of American Women As Classical
Instrumentalists and Conductors
ML128.W5C6 1999
Clark, D Appraisals of Original Wind Music: A Survey and Guide
ML128.W5S43 2002
Secrist-Schmedes, B. Wind Chamber Music: For Two to Sixteen Winds: An Annotated Guide
ML410.I94E4 (1974)
Elkus, J. Charles Ives and the American Band Tradition
Video ML410.S688I3 1992
If You Knew Sousa
ML930.C5 1976
Clappe, A. The Wind-Band and Its Instruments
ML930.W5 1980
Whitwell, D. A New History of Wind Music
ML1300.G65 1974
Goldman, R. The Wind Band, Its Literature & Technique
ML1300.W56 1982 v.1-12
Whitwell, D. The History and Literature of the Wind Band and Wind Ensemble
ML1306.B382 2002
Battisti, F. The Winds of Change: The Evolution of the Contemporary American Wind
Band/Ensemble and its Conductor
ML1306.C5 1982
Chiefari, J. Introducing the Drum & Bugle Corps
ML1311.C35 (1976)
Camus, R. Military Music of the American Revolution
ML1311.C64
Whitwell, D. The College and University Band (1977)
ML1311.H3 1987
Hazen, M. The Music Men: An Illustrated History of Brass Bands in America from 1800-1920
ML1311.O47
Olson, K. Music and Musket: Bands and Bandsmen of the American Civil War (1981)
ML1311.7.L7S3
Schafer, W. Brass Bands and New Orleans Jazz (1977)
ML1331.B26 1991
Bands: The Brass Band Movement in the 19th and 20th Centuries
ML1331.T4
Taylor, A. Brass Bands (1979)
ML1331.T43 1983
Taylor, A. Labour & Love: An Oral History of the Brass Band Movement

INSTRUMENTATION & ORCHESTRATION

ML930.C38M9 2002
Carse, A. Musical Wind Instruments
MT70.A3 2002
Adler, S. The Study of Orchestration
MT70 .B4813 2002
MacDonald, H. Berlioz's Orchestration Treatise: A Translation and Commentary
MT70.B56 1997
Blatter, A. Instrumentation and Orchestration
MT70.K37 2002
Kennan, K and Grantham, D. The Technique of Orchestration
MT70.N47 1993
Nestico, S. The Complete Arranger
MT70.S4 1984
Sebesky, D. The Contemporary Arranger, with sound disc.
MT170.R38 1993
Read, G. Compendium of Modern Instrumental Techniques

MARCHING BAND TECHNIQUES

MT733.B35 1994
Bailey, W. The Complete Marching Band Resource Manual: Teachniques and Materials for Teaching, Drill Design, and Music Arranging
MT733.C310-.C328
Casavant, A. [Various books on drill & routines]
MT733.4.F68 1978
Foster, R. Multiple Option: Marching Band Techniques
MT733.4.H64 1984
Holston, K. The Marching Band Handbook

PEDAGOGY

* See also, VIDEOS, listed below.
MT73.N67 1979
Northshore Concert Band. The Community Band
MT125 .T43 v.1-4 with CDs
Miles, R, ed. Teaching Music through Performance in Band. (1997-2002)
MT125.T433 Grade 1 with CD
Miles, R. and Dvorak T., ed. Teaching Music through Performance in Beginning Band. (2001)
MT130.M57G37 1998
Garofalo, R. Suite Française by Darius Milhaud: A Teaching-Learning Unit
MT130.Z34G37 1999
-----. Chorale and Shaker Dance by John P. Zdechlik: A Teaching-Learning Unit
MT170 .C64 2002
Colwell, R. and Goolsby T. The Teaching of Instrumental Music
MT170.K56 1982
Kinyon, J. Instrumental Music Director's Source Book
MT170.P58 1990
Pizer, R. Evaluation Programs for School Bands and Orchestras
MT733.A514
ASBDA. ASBDA Curriculum Guide (1973)
MT733.B64
Bollinger, D. Band Director's Complete Handbook (1979)
MT733.B93
Butts, C. Troubleshooting the High School Band... (1981)
MT733.F58 1994
Fleming, L. Getting Started with Jazz Band
MT733.J36 1985
Janzen, E. Band Director's Survival Guide...
MT733.J87 1991
Jurrens, J. Tuning the Band and Raising Pitch Consciousness
MT733.K86 1998
Kvet, E. Strategies for Teaching High School Band: Your Key to Implementing the National Standards for Music Education
MT733.L58 1991
Lisk, E. The Creative Director: Alternative Rehearsal Techniques
MT733.N28 2001
Navarre, R. Instrumental Music Teacher's Survival Kit: Ready-to-Use Guidelines, Lessons & Exercises for Teaching Beginning Band Instruments
MT733.P427
Pearson, B. Best in Class: Comprehensive Band Method (1982)
MT733.T43 1985
Thompson, K. Wind Bands & Brass Bands in School & Music Centres
MT740 .N18 2000
Nathan, A. The Young Musician's Survival Guide: Tips from Teens & Pros

VIDEOS

MT73.B35 1992
Balance and Pitch in a Band Performance
MT733.B35 1990
Band Competition: Blessing or Curse?
MT733.D48 1985 pt.1-2
Designing a Championship Show
MT733.D95 1985 pt.1-3
Dynamic Leadership for Bands
MT733.F56 1990
5 Roads to Better Musical Results
MT733.M88 1992
Musicality in a Band Performance with Vaclav Nelhybel
MT733.R48
Inside a Live Rehearsal: William Revelli (198-?)
MT733.4.B3 1983
Rocky Mount Band of Excellence/ Improving Outdoor Performance
MT733.4.H69 1989 pt.1-5
Charting, Designing & Planning for the Marching Band
MT733.4.M3
Basic Marching Techniques (198-?)


University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Pauline Bayne, Margaret Kaus, and Jonathan Shearon, Revised May 2003