Skip to Main Content

The University of Tennessee

George F. DeVine Music Library: University Libraries

Frequently Used Tools:




Music Education: Early Childhood*

The Music Education Guides are designed for use by music education faculty and students. Included in these guides are lists of call number ranges and subject headings for browsing/accessing books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings on different aspects of music education, learning styles and teaching methods. Online resources such as links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs are also included.

line

BROWSING AND CATALOG SEARCHING BY CALL NUMBER RANGES

Call Numbers

  • M1985 Musical games
  • M1990 Kindergarten songbooks
  • M1994 School songbooks
  • ML83 Children and music
  • ML3830 Psychology of Music
  • MT1 Theory of musical instruction
  • MT2 Musical instruction and study. History and criticism
  • MT3 By region or country
  • MT6 Music theory, rudiments
  • MT155 Theory for children
  • MT742 Methods for children
  • MT810 Instrumental & rhythm
  • MT898 Techniques for children
  • MT920-MT925 Kindergarten. Methods and exercises
  • MT930 Elementary schools
  • MT935 Vocal methods for children

Subject Headings

  • CHILD DEVELOPMENT
  • CHILD MUSICIANS
  • CHILD PSYCHOLOGY
  • MONTESSORI METHOD OF EDUCATION
  • MUSIC--INSTRUCTION AND STUDY
  • PRESCHOOL MUSIC
  • SCHOOL MUSIC

PRINT RESOURCES (in the Reference Room)

Reference Books

Ref MT1.H138 1992
     Colwell, R. New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning. 1992.
Ref MT1.N48 2002
     -----. New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning. 2002.
Ref MT3.U5 M32 1996
     Mark, M. Contemporary Music Education. 1996.

Journals

British Journal of Music Education BJME / ML5.B6898
Council for Research in Music Education. Bulletin / ML1.C68
Journal of Research in Music Education / ML1.J6
Music Educators Journal / ML1.M24
Teaching Music / ML1.T33
Tennessee Musician / ML1.T4

Directories

Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts - REF. STACKS – ML13.M83 2005.

***Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.


SELECT PRINT RESOURCES (in the Stacks)

Activities

M1994.M68O5 1991
     Mitchell, L. One, Two, Three-- Echo Me!: Ready-to-use Songs, Games, and Activities to Help Children Sing in      Tune. 1991.
MT1.H13 1996
     Haines, J. Leading Young Children to Music. 1996.
MT155.M57 1991
     Mitchell, L. Ready-to-Use Music Reading Activities Kit. 1991.
MT810.E75
     Etkin, R. The Rhythm Band Book. 1978.
MT935.P53 1992
     Phillips, K. Teaching Kids to Sing. 1992.

Montessori Materials

LB775.M727 1966a
     Montessori, M. A Montessori Handbook. 1966.
HODGES LB775.M8L55 1996
     Lillard, P. Montessori Today: A Comprehensive Approach to Education from Birth to Adulthood. 1996.
HODGES LB1205 .L55 1997
     -----. Montessori in the Classroom: A Teacher's Account of How Children Really Learn. 1997.
MT948.B337
     Barnett, E. Montessori & Music: Rhythmic Activities for Young Children. 1973.

Teaching Methods

MT22 .A74 2003
     Jaques-Dalcroze, Emile. Eurhythmics, art, and education. 2003.
MT7.C3 v.1-4
     Carabo-Cone, M. Sensory-Motor Approach to Music Learning. 1969.
MT925.D24
     Daniel, K. Kodaly in Kindergarten. 1981.

Other

HODGES LC46.8.E2 W55 2000
     Wild, R. Raising Curious, Creative, Confident Kids: The Pestalozzi Experiment in Child-based Education. 2000.
ML457 .W47 2003
     Westney, William. The perfect wrong note : learning to trust your musical self. 2003.
ML3920.C172 2000
     Campbell, D. The Mozart Effect for Children: Awakening your Child's Mind, Health, and Creativity with Music.      2000.
MT1 .F54 2005
     Flohr, John W. Musical lives of young children. 2005.
MT1.H115 1999
     Habermeyer, S. Good Music, Brighter Children: Simple and Practical Ideas to Help Transform your Child's Life      through the Power of Music. 1999.
MT1 .M63 2005
     Mills, Janet. Music in the School. 2005.
MT1 .M98725 2000
     MENC. Music Makes the Difference. Music, Brain Development, and Learning. 2000.
MT1 .T43 2004
     MENC. Teacher to Teacher: A Music Educator's Survival Guide. 2004.
MT920 .D47 2000
     Kenney, S. Designing Music Environments for Early Childhood. 2000.
MT930.N53 H63 2005
     Hoffer, Charles R. Music for Elementary Classroom Teachers. 2005.
MT920.V37
     Vernazza, M. Complete Handbook of Kindergarten Music Lesson Plans and Activities. 1981.


AUDIO-VISUAL RESOURCES

CDs/Books M1994.S521 2002, M1994.S5212 2002, M1994.S5214 2002 Ask at Music Circulation desk.
     Silver Burdett. Making Music. 2002.
CDs/Books MT6.S53 2000, MT6.S532 2000, MT6.S5322 2000 Ask at Music Circulation desk.
     Share the Music. 2000.
CD/Book MT930.B92 2000 and CD8498
     Burton, L. SoundPlay: Understanding Music through Creative Movement. 2000.
CD/Book MT930 .T53 2004 ; CD12568
     Tibbett, Teri. Listen to Learn: Using American Music to Understand Language Arts and Social Studies
     (Grades 5-8)
. 2004.
CD12460
     Gemini. Rhythmically Moving. 2003.

Video MT1.K4 v.1
     Music in Early Childhood (Key Changes series). 1989.
Video MT1.K4 v.2
     The Child's Singing Voice (Key Changes series). 1989.


ONLINE RESOURCES

Children's Music Web <http://www.childrensmusic.org/>
Elementary Education Resources: Music <http://www.pitt.edu/~poole/eledMusic.html>
Enchanted Learning: Music <http://www.enchantedlearning.com/music/>
Music Educators National Conference <http://www.menc.org/>
Music Education Resource Base (MERB) <http://www.merb.org>
     MERB/CMI is a bibliographic database of more than 28,000 resources in music and music education from
     31 Canadian and International journals and other sources covering the period 1956 through the present.
Music Education Resource Directory <http://www.musiceducationresourcedirectory.com/>
Music K-8 dot com <http://www.musick8kids.com/>
Tennessee Music Education Association (TMEA) <http://tnmea.org>

Also see:

Electronic Resources Available Via URL in Catalog:

Kenneson, C. Musical Prodigies: Perilous Journeys, Remarkable Lives. 1998.
Morgan, H. The Imagination of Early Childhood Education. 1999.
Sporborg, J. Music in Every Classroom: A Resource Guide for Integrating Music across the Curriculum, Grades K-8. 1998.
Wentworth, R. Montessori for the New Millennium: Practical Guidance on the Teaching and Education of Children of All Ages, Based on a Rediscovery of the True Principles and Vision of Maria Montessori. 1999.

Periodical Indexes

Related databases available on the UT Libraries Database Page:
Education Full Text
ERIC
Music and Performing Arts Online (IIMP & IIPA)
RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature
PsycLINFO (Journal articles)
Social Sciences Citation Index
Dissertation Abstracts
Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Music databases available on the Music Library Database Page:
Music and Performing Arts Online (IIMP & IIPA)
Music Index Online
RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature

*Call numbers apply to UT held items only


University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Pauline Bayne and Connie Steigenga, Revised July 2007