Skip to Main Content

The University of Tennessee

George F. DeVine Music Library: University Libraries

Frequently Used Tools:




Jazz and Blues *

The Music Genre Guides are designed for use by music faculty and students. Included in these guides are lists of call number ranges and subject headings for browsing/accessing books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings on different aspects of each genre. Online resources such as links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs are also included.

line

BROWSING AND CATALOG SEARCHING BY CALL NUMBER RANGES

Call Numbers

  • M1356, 1366, 1630 / Scores & recordings
  • ML102.J3 / Dictionary
  • ML105 / Biographical dictionary
  • ML128.J3 / Bibliography
  • ML156.4.J3 / Discography
  • ML200.8 / American music
  • ML385 / Biography--Collected
  • ML394 / Biography--Performers
  • ML417 / Biography--Pianists
  • ML420 / Biography--Singers
  • ML1311 / U. S. Jazz Bands
  • ML2811 / U. S. Jazz vocal music
  • ML3521 / Blues
  • ML3561.J3 / History and criticism
  • ML3650 / British jazz
  • MT68 / Improvisation
  • MT86 / Dance orchestra conducting
  • MT239 / Instruction & study (piano)

Subject Headings

  • BIG BANDS
  • BLUES (MUSIC)
  • BLUES MUSICIANS
  • BOP (MUSIC)
  • DANCE ORCHESTRAS
  • DIXIELAND MUSIC
  • IMPROVISATION (MUSIC)
  • JAZZ
  • JAZZ --1921-1930, etc. [by decade]
  • JAZZ --BIBLIOGRAPHY
  • JAZZ --[COUNTRY OR CITY]
  • JAZZ --DICTIONARIES
  • JAZZ --DISCOGRAPHY
  • JAZZ --HISTORY AND CRITICISM
  • JAZZ --INSTRUCTION AND STUDY
  • JAZZ MUSICIANS
  • JAZZ MUSICIANS --UNITED STATES
  • JAZZ VOCALS
  • RAGTIME MUSIC

PRINT RESOURCES (in the Reference Room)

Reference Books

Ref ML102.B6E53 2006
     Komara, E. Encyclopedia of the Blues. 2006.
Ref ML102.F66S74 2001
     Stambler, I. Folk and Blues: The Encyclopedia. 2001.
Ref ML102.J3F39 1999
     Feather, L. The Biographical Encyclopedia of Jazz. 1999.
Ref ML102.J3N48 2002 v.1-3
     Kernfeld, B. New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. 2002. --Also included in the online resource: Grove Music
Ref ML102.P66H57 2004
     Hischak, T. The Tin Pan Alley Song Encyclopedia. 2004.
Ref Ml102.J3V57 2004
     Larkin, C. The Virgin Encyclopedia of Jazz. 2004.
Ref ML105.F35
     Feather, L. Encyclopedia of Jazz in the Sixties. 1966.
Ref ML105.F36
     Feather, L. Encyclopedia of Jazz in the Seventies. 1976.
Ref ML128.B49H3 1989
     Hart, M. The Blues: A Bibliographical Guide. 1989.
Ref ML128.J3M34 2006
     Meadows, E. Jazz Scholarship and Pedagogy: A Research and Information Guide. 2006.
Ref ML156.4.J3C67 2002
     Cook, R. The Penguin Guide to Jazz on CD. 2002.
Ref ML156.4.J3R37 2002
     Ratliff, B. Jazz: A Critic's Guide to the 100 Most Important Recordings. 2002.
Ref ML156.4.J3R65 1999
     Swenson, J. The Rolling Stone Jazz & Blues Album Guide. 1999.
Ref ML3521.S58 1994
     Sonnier, A. A Guide to the Blues: History, Who's Who, Research Sources. 1994.
Ref PS591.N4T34 1983
     Taft, M. Blues Lyric Poetry: An Anthology. 1983.

Journals

Double Bassist ML920 .D68
Down Beat ML1.D69
Guitar Player ML1.G85
Jazz Educators Journal ML1.N37
Jazz Improv ML3505.8 .J3995
Jazziz ML3505.8.J427
Jazz Times ML1.R232
Just Jazz Guitar MT580.J88
Keyboard ML1.C9153

Directories

Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts - REF. STACKS – ML13.M83 2005.

***Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.


SELECT PRINT RESOURCES (in the Stacks)

Collected Biographies

ML54.6.B79B6 1996
     Bourgeois, A. Blueswomen: Profiles of 37 Early Performers, with an Anthology of Lyrics, 1920-1945. 1996.
ML82.G69 1995
     Gouse, L. Madame Jazz: Contemporary Women Instrumentalists. 1995.
ML385.D29 1990
     Davis, F. Outcats: Jazz Composers, Instrumentalists, and Singers. 1990.
ML385.M425 1998
     Milkowski, B. Rockers, Jazzbos & Visionaries. 1998.
ML394.D53 2003
     Dicaire, D. Jazz Musicians of the Early Years, to 1945. 2003.
ML394.D52 2006
     Dicaire, D. Jazz Musicians, 1945 to the Present. 2006.
ML395.B36 1996
     Balliett, W. American Musicians II: Seventy-Two Portraits in Jazz. 1996.
ML395.J37 2002
     Jasen, D. Black Bottom Stomp: Eight Masters of Ragtime and Early Jazz. 2002.
ML399.R65 2000
     Obrecht, J. Rollin' and Tumblin': The Postwar Blues Guitarists. 2000.
ML399.Y36 2001
     Yanow, S. The Trumpet Kings: The Players Who Shaped the Sound of Jazz Trumpet. 2001.
ML400.D53 1999
     Dicaire, D. Blues Singers: Biographies of 50 Legendary Artists of the Early 20th Century. 1999.

History of Jazz

ML82.T83 2000
     Tucker, S. Swing Shift: "All-Girl" Bands of the 1940s. 2000.
ML394.G84 1998
     Griffiths, D. Hot jazz: From Harlem to Storyville. 1998.
ML399.B658 2002
     Korall, B. Drummin' Men: The Heartbeat of Jazz: The Bebop Years. 2002.
ML3477.M45 1999
     Melnick, J. A Right to Sing the Blues: African Americans, Jews, and American Popular Song. 1999.
ML3506.F74 2002
     Friedwald, W. The Future of Jazz. 2002.
ML3506.G74 2003
     Gridley, M. Jazz Styles: History & Analysis. 2003.
ML3508.P58 1982b
     Placksin, S. American Women In Jazz: 1900 To The Present: Their Words, Lives, And Music. 1982.
ML3508.P67 2002
     Porter, E. What Is This Thing Called Jazz?: African American Musicians as Artists, Critics, and Activists. 2002.
ML3521.B58 2002
     Moore, A. The Cambridge Companion to Blues and Gospel Music. 2002.
ML3521.K83 1999
     Kubik, G. Africa and the Blues. 1999.
ML3530.J38 2000
     Jasen, D. That American Rag: The Story of Ragtime from Coast to Coast. 2000.
ML3556.C37 1993
     Carruth, H. Sitting In: Selected Writings on Jazz, Blues, and Related Topics. 1993.
ML3561.J3C43
     Charters, S. Jazz: New Orleans, 1885-1963. 1963.

Improvisation and Pedagogy

MT68.A4 v.1-
     Aebersold, J. New Approach to Jazz Improvisation. 1974.
     An index to this series is available from the Music Library Home page / Indexes
MT68.B28 1979
     Baker, D. Jazz Pedagogy: A Comprehensive Method Of Jazz Education For Teacher And Student. 1979.
MT68.B3 1990 v.1-2
     -----. Advanced Improvisation. 1990.
MT86.B64 1993
     Boling, M. The Jazz Theory Workbook: Basic Harmonic Skills and Theory. 1993.
MT86.R66 1989
     Rinzler, P. Jazz Arranging And Performance Practice : A Guide For Small Ensembles. 19893
MT239.S66 1985
     Spencer, R. The Piano Player's Jazz Handbook. 1985.
MT322.G65 2002 with CD 9427
     Goldsby, J. The Jazz Bass Book: Technique and Tradition. 2002.
MT588.H645 2002
     Johnston, R. How to Play Blues Guitar: The Basics & Beyond: Lessons & Tips from the Great Players. 2002.
MT935.M2 1999
     Madura, P. Getting Started with Vocal Improvisation. 1999.

Jazz Education Materials by Jerry Coker

MT68.C646 1991 with cassettes
     Coker, Jerry. Elements of the Jazz Language for the Improviser. 1991.
MT68.C65 1990
     Coker, Jerry. How to Practice Jazz. 1990.
MT68.C642
     Coker, Jerry. The Jazz Idiom. 1975.
MT68.P31 1970
     Coker, Jerry. Patterns for Jazz. 1970.
MT68.C7
     Coker, Jerry. Improvising Jazz. 1964.
MT86.C593 1990 with tape
     Coker, Jerry. How to Listen to Jazz. 1990.
MT86.C592 1989
     Coker, Jerry. The Teaching of Jazz. 1989.
MT86.C59 [Storage]
     Coker, Jerry. Listening to Jazz. 1978.
MT239.C64J3 1984
     Coker, Jerry. Jazz Keyboard. 1984.


AUDIO-VISUAL RESOURCES

CD M1366.S556 v.1-5 1987
     The Smithsonian Collection of Classic Jazz. 1987.
CD/DVD M1670.L66 2001
     The Long Road to Freedom: An Anthology of Black Music. 2001.
CD ML3556.J42 2001
     James, W. Afro-American Music: A Demonstration Recording. 2001.
CD13379
     Jazz styles: history and analysis: demonstration compact disc. 2006.

CD-ROM ML3508.J29 1992
     Jazz: A Multimedia History. Based on Jazz: From Its Origins to the Present by Lewis Porter. 1992.

DVD M1366 .G7 2003
     The greatest jazz films ever. 2003.
DVD M1366 .I53 2007
     Improvisation. 2007.
DVD M1366 .J287 2002
     Aebersold, Jamey. Jazz: Anyone Can Improvise. 2002.
DVD M1366 .J2936 2007
     Jazz giants of the 20th century. 2007.
DVD M1670.L66 2001
     The Long Road to Freedom: An Anthology of Black Music. 2001.
DVD ML38 .M778 M64 1998           
     Monterey Jazz Festival: forty legendary years. 1998.
DVD ML419.C645W67 2002
     Palmer, R. The World According to John Coltrane. 2002.
DVD ML3506.J38 2000 vol.1-10
     Burns, K. Jazz. 2000.
DVD ML3506.J39 2000
     Stern, B. Jazz on a Summer's Day. 2000.
DVD ML3508.G73 1999
     A Great Day in Harlem. 1999.
DVD ML3680.7.T9G45 2000
     Genghis Blues. 2000.

** CDs and Videos by specific composers/performers can be found by doing an advanced search with the format limited to compact disc or video recording.


ONLINE RESOURCES

Acid Jazz (the independent record label) www.acidjazz.co.uk
Acid Jazz (information on genre, groups, club guides, discographies, etc.) www.cmd.uu.se/acidjazz/
The Blue Highway www.thebluehighway.com
The Blues Foundation www.blues.org
InterJazz www.interjazz.com
JazzOnline www.jazzonln.com
Open Directory Project Blues Links http://dmoz.org/Arts/Music/Styles/Blues/
William Ransom Hogan Archive of New Orleans Jazz www.tulane.edu/~lmiller/JazzHome.html
World Wide Jazz Web www.xs4all.nl/~centrale/rest.html  

Also see:

DATABASES & INDEXES
African American Song
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Grove Music
Music and Performing Arts Online (IIMP & IIPA)
Music Index Online

Naxos Music Library
RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature
Smithsonian Global Sound

*Call numbers apply to UT held items only


University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Pauline Bayne and Connie Steigenga, Revised April 2008