The University of Tennessee University Libraries
A-Z Index  /  WebMail  /  Dept. Directory

Organ Literature and Pedagogy

 

 

 

RESEARCH HELP:

Internet Resources LC Classification Subject Headings
Periodical Indexes
 

IN THE REFERENCE ROOM:

Bibliographies
Current Periodicals Music in Print
 

MATERIALS BY TOPIC:

American Organs History & Construction Methods & Technique
Organ-Builders Repertoire Theatre Organs

NOTE: This guide provides selective listings. There may be more materials available in these subject areas.

Always check the catalog, using subject headings suggested, or check the appropriate call number areas in the stacks.


RESEARCH HELP

INTERNET RESOURCES

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION NUMBERS

Knowing the LC class number (call number) means that you can go directly to the shelves to browse in that area, or you may determine complete library holdings by checking the shelf list.

  • ML128.O6 Organ music--Bibliography
  • ML132.O7 Organ music--Graded lists
  • ML550-649 General: History & construction, Music & playing
  • MT170-208 Organ techniques
  • MT801.O7 Instruction & study for children

SUBJECT HEADINGS IN THE LIBRARY CATALOGS

Subject access is useful for finding books when you do not have a specific author or title. For a detailed list of subject headings, consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings.

  • Organ (Musical instrument)
  • Organ--Almanacs, yearbooks, etc.
  • Organ--Belgium [or any country]
  • Organ--Bibliography
  • Organ--Congresses
  • Organ--Construction
  • Organ--History
  • Organ--Instruction and study
  • Organ--Interpretation (Phrasing, dynamics, etc.)
  • Organ--Methods
  • Organ--Performance
  • Organ--Periodicals
  • Organ--Registration
  • Organ--Studies and exercises
  • Flute and organ music [or any instrument]
  • Organ builders
  • Organ pipes
  • Organ music
  • Organ music--16th century [by century]
  • Organ music--Bibliography
  • Organ music--History and Criticism
  • Organ music--Juvenile
  • Organ stops
  • Organists
  • Reed organ
  • Suites (Organ) [and other forms]

PERIODICAL INDEXES

Music databases available on the Web:

  • International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
  • Music Index Online
  • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature


IN THE REFERENCE ROOM

BIBLIOGRAPHIES

Ref ML128.O6E4 v.1-2 (1970) and Supplement (1974)
Edson, J. Organ Preludes
Ref ML128.O6L5
Liebenow, W. Rank on Rank (1973)
Ref ML128.O6S6
Sollenberger, E. Organ Compositions of the Twentieth Century (1980)
Ref ML128.O6S7 1977
Spelman, L. Organ Plus: A Catalogue of Ensemble Music for Organ and Instruments

CURRENT PERIODICALS

  • Diapason ML1.D41
  • The Hymn and The Stanza (newsletter) ML1.H92
  • The American Organist ML1.M27
  • The Tracker ML1.T49
  • Organ Yearbook ML21.O7 [in Stacks]

MUSIC IN PRINT

The Music-In-Print Series listed on Music Databases page.
Organ


MATERIALS BY TOPIC

AMERICAN ORGANS

ML561.O3
Ochse, O. The History of the Organ in the United States (1975)
ML561.O37 1983
Ogasapian, J. Church Organs: A Guide to Selection & Purchase
ML561.O73 1982
Pape, U. Organs in America
ML561.T7
-----. The Tracker Organ Revival in America (1977)
ML561.5.H57 1992
Edwards, L., ed. The Historical Organ in America
ML594.S2M7 1990
Owen, B. The Mormon Tabernacle Organ: An American Classic
ML597.G44
Gellerman, R. The American Reed Organ: Its History, How It Works, How to Rebuild It (1973)

HISTORY & CONSTRUCTION

ML424.S546S54 1997
Skinner Organ Company. Stop, Open and Reed: A Periodical Presentation of Pipe Organ Progress
ML550.A513 1969
Andersen, P-G. Organ Building and Design
ML550.B64
Blanton, J. The Organ in Church Design (1957)
ML550.C35 1998
Thistlethwaite, N. and Webber, G., eds. The Cambridge Companion to the Organ
ML550.N54
Niland, A. Introduction to the Organ (1968)
ML550.N64 1999
Noehren, R. An Organist's Reader: Essays
ML550.W5
Wills, A. The Organ (1984)
ML552.H64 1966
Hill, A. Organ-cases and Organs of the Middle Ages and Renaissance
ML552.S34 1982
Seidel, J. The Organ and Its Construction
ML553.M37 1989
Marshall, K. Iconographical Evidence for the Late-Medieval Organ... 2 vols.
ML553.W54 1993
Williams, P. The Organ in Western Culture, 750-1250
Oversize ML555.B4213
Bedos de Celles. The Organ-builder (1977 reprint)
ML557.D66 1991
Donahue, T. The Modern Classical Organ
ML570.W54 1978
Williams, P. The European Organ, 1450-1850
ML570.W55 1993
Williams, P. The King of Instruments: How Churches Came to Have Organs
ML574.C38 1979
Cavaille-Coll, A. Complete Theoretical Works
ML574.D69 1995
Douglass, F. Language of the Classical French Organ: A Musical Tradition before 1800
ML578.T5 1990
Thistlethwaite, N. The Making of the Victorian Organ
ML595.S670
Sorge, G. ...Scaling of Organ Pipes (1978)

METHODS AND TECHNIQUES

Video MT180.C38 2001
American Guild of Organists. Catharine Crozier: Master Teacher
MT180.J6
Johnson, D. Organ Teacher's Guide (1971)
MT180.K7
Krapf, G. Liturgical Organ Playing (1964)
MT180.L69
Lovelace, A. The Organist and Hymn Playing (1962)
MT180.P5 1961
Phillips, G. Articulation in Organ-Playing
MT180.S6
Soderlund, S. Organ Technique (1980)
MT180.T8713 2000
Woolard, M.A.G., ed. Daniel Gottlob Teurk on the Role of the Organist in Worship (1787)
MT182.B7 1988
Brock, J. Introduction to Organ Playing in 17th & 18th Century Style
MT182.G55 1979
Gleason, H. Method of Organ Playing
MT182.J64 1964
Johnson, D. Instruction Book for Beginning Organists
MT182.P4
Peeters, F. Ars Organi (1953-54)
MT182.R33
Ragatz, O. Organ Technique (1979)
MT182.R6 1992
Ritchie, G. Organ Technique: Modern and Early
MT189.G4
Geer, E. Organ Registration in Theory and Practice (1957)
MT189.O94 1997
Owen, B. The Registration of Baroque Organ Music
MT191.I5B45
Bender, J. Organ Improvisation for Beginners (1975)
MT191.I5O94 1998
Overduin, J. Making Music: Improvisation for Organists

ORGAN BUILDERS

ML55.F59 1986 vol. 1-2
Owen, B., ed. Charles Brenton Fisk: Organ Builder
ML424.C2D7
Douglass, F. Cavaille-Coll and the Musicians (1980)
ML424.H77F5
Ferguson, J. Walter Holtkamp, American Organ Builder (1978)
ML424.S36R4 1982
Reinburg, P. Arp Schnitger, Organ Builder: Catalyst for the Centuries

REPERTOIRE

ML111.D48 no.77
Hettinger, S.L. American Organ Music of the Twentieth Century (1997)
ML410.F82S58 1997
Smith, R. Playing the Organ Works of Cesar Franck
ML410.F82S6 2002
________. Toward an Authentic Interpretation of the Organ Works of Cesar Franck
ML410.J743W5 1997
Whitely, J.S. Joseph Jongen and his Organ Music
ML424.C2D7 1999
Douglass, F. Cavaille-Coll and the French Romantic Tradition
Ref ML600.A76 1995 v.1-2
Arnold, C. Organ Literature
Ref ML600.K73
Kratzenstein, M. Survey of Organ Literature and Editions (1980)
ML604.S5
Shannon, J. Organ Literature of the Seventeenth Century (1978)
ML624.O25 1994
Ochse, O. Organists and Organ Playing in Nineteenth-century France and Belgium
ML628.H37 2003
Hardwick, P. British Organ Music of the Twentieth Century
ML628.R69
Routh, F. Early English Organ Music from the Middle Ages to 1837 (1973)
ML628.2.C7 1989 v.1-2
Cox, G. Organ Music in Restoration England.
ML700.K47
Kirby, F. A Short History of Keyboard Music (1966)
MT145.B14W53 1980 v.1-3
Williams, P. The Organ Music of J. S. Bach
MT145.D75S74 1999
Steed, G. The Organ Works of Marcel Dupre

THEATRE ORGANS

ML557.L16 1983
Landon, J. Behold the Mighty Wurlitzer
Ref ML561.J86 1985
Junchen, D. Encyclopedia of the American Theatre Organ


 

University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Pauline Bayne and Chris Durman, Revised August 2003