Skip to Main Content

The University of Tennessee

George F. DeVine Music Library: University Libraries

Frequently Used Tools:




World Music, Folk Music, and Ethnomusicology *

The Music Genre Guides are designed for use by music faculty and students. Included in these guides are lists of call number ranges and subject headings for browsing/accessing books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings on different aspects of each genre. Online resources such as links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs are also included.

line

BROWSING AND CATALOG SEARCHING BY CALL NUMBER RANGES

Call Numbers

  • M1627 Songs, international
  • M1629 Songs, United States
  • M1630.18 Popular music
  • M1685-M1853 National music (vocal) by country
  • ML3544-ML3785 National music, history and criticism by country
  • ML3797 Music research: Ethnomusicology
  • ML3798-ML3799 Ethnomusicology  

Subject Headings

  • BALLADS
  • BLUEGRASS MUSIC
  • CAROLS
  • ETHNOMUSICOLOGY
  • FOLK DANCE MUSIC
  • FOLK DANCING
  • FOLK MUSIC
  • FOLK SONGS
  • POPULAR MUSIC
  • NATIONAL SONGS
  • WORK SONGS
  • WORLD MUSIC

PRINT RESOURCES (in the Reference Room)

Reference Books

Bibliographies

Ref ML111.D48 no.1-8
     Nettl, B. Reference Materials in Ethnomusicology. 1961.
Ref ML128.E8 S4 1992
     Schuursma, A. Ethnomusicology Research: A Select Annotated Bibliography. 1992.
Ref ML128.F74 F54 1997 v.1-2
     Fleishmann, A. Sources of Irish Traditional Music. 1997.
Ref ML128.F75 K44 1997
     Keeling, R. North American Indian Music: A Guide to Published Sources and Selected Recordings.  1997.
Ref ML128.F74 M5 1986
     Miller, T. Folk Music in America: A Reference Guide. 1986.
Ref ML128.F75 B83
     Brunnings, F. Folk Song Index: a Comprehensive Guide to the Florence E. Brunnings Collection. 1981.
Ref ML128.P63 P67 1997
     Shepherd, J. Popular Music Studies: A Select International Bibliography. 1997.

Discographies

Ref ML156.2.I53
     A Catalog of Phonorecordings of Music and Oral Data Held by the Archives of Traditional Music.  1975.
Ref ML156.2.I54 1987
     Early Field Recordings: A Catalogue of Cylinder Collections at the Indiana University Archives of Traditional     Music. 1987.
Ref ML156.2.I55
     Lee, D. Native North American Music and Oral Data: A Catalogue of Sound Recordings, 1893-1976.  1979.
Ref ML156.4.N3 U7
     Tudor, D. Grass Roots Music. 1979.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Ref ML100.G16 1998 v.1-10
     Stone,R. Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. 10 v. 1998.
Ref ML101.A9 O94 1997
     Oxford Companion to Australian Music. 1997.
Ref ML101.B7 E53 2000 v.1-4
     Enciclopedia da Musica Brasileira. 2000.
Ref ML101.S7 D53 1999 v.1-10
     Diccionario de la Musica Espanola e Hispanoamericana. 1999.
Ref ML102.P66 C66 2003 v. 1-7
     Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World. 2003.
Ref ML102.W67 W67 1999
     World Music: The Rough Guide. 1999.
Ref ML3551.A53 2002 v.1-5
     Titon, J. American Musical Traditions. 2002.

Journals

Asian Music ML1.A86
Canadian Folk Music Bulletin ML5.C35
Canadian Folk Music Journal ML5.C148
Ethnomusicology ML1.E77
Revista de Musica Latino Americana = Latin American Music Review ML199.R48
Society for Ethnomusicology. Newsletter ML27.U5 S6
World of Music ML5.W67

Directories

Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts - REF. STACKS – ML13.M83 2005.

***Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.


SELECT PRINT RESOURCES (in the Stacks)

Books

GR37.B37 1994
     Bartis, P. and Glatt, H. Folklife Sourcebook: A Directory of Folklife Resources in the United States. 1994.
ML60.B63 1995
     Blacking, J. Music, Culture, and Experience: Selected Papers of John Blacking. 1995.
ML430.7.I47 1998
     Nettl, B. In the Course of Performance: Studies in the World of Musical Improvisation. 1998.
ML3470.S58 2002
     Asensio, S. Songs of the Minotaur: Hybridity and Popular Music in the Era of Globalization. 2002.
ML3545.W67 1996 (Book and CD)
     Titon, J. Worlds of Music: An Introduction to the Music of the World's Peoples. 1996.
ML3550.L4 1965
     Lawless, R. Folksingers and Folksongs in America. 1965.
ML3551.L67 2002 & CD9921
     Lornell, K. Introducing American Folk Music: Ethnic and Grassroot Traditions in the United States. 2002.
ML3650.B82 v.1-4
     Bronson, B. The Traditional Tunes of the Child Ballads; with their Texts, according to the Extant Records of     Great Britain and America.  1959-72
ML3565.R68 2000
     Rouse, M. Jamaican Folk Music: A Synthesis of Many Cultures. 2000.
ML3580.L5613 1997
     Ling, J. A History of European Folk Music. 1997.
ML3680.P79 2002
     Prokhorov, V. Russian Folk Songs: Musical Genres and History. 2002.
ML3758.A754 K65 1998
     Komitas, V. Armenian Sacred and Folk Music. 1998.
ML3797.H66 1982
     Hood, M. The Ethnomusicologist. 1982.
ML3797.L6 C3
     Lomax, A. Cantometrics: A Method in Musical Anthropology. 1976.
ML3797.1.C34 S4
     UCLA Institute of Ethnomusicology. Selected Reports in Ethnomusicology. 1966-.
ML3798.H46 1981
     Herndon, M. and McLeod, N. Music as Culture. 1981.
ML3798.K33 1993
     Kaemmer, J. Music in Human Life: Anthropological Perspectives on Music. 1993.
ML3798.M87
     May, E. Musics of Many Cultures. 1980.
ML3798.N46 2002
     Nercessian, A. Postmodernism and Globalization in Ethnomusicology: An Epistemological Problem.  2002.
ML3798.N47 2005
     Nettl, B. The Study of Ethnomusicology: Thirty-one Issues and Concepts. 2005.
ML3799.E82 1992
     Myers, H. Ethnomusicology: An Introduction. 1992.
ML3799.G37 1990 v.1-7
     The Garland Library of Readings in Ethnomusicology: A Core Collection of Important  Ethnomusicological     Articles. 1990.
ML3799.P47 1984
     Behague, G. Performance Practice: Ethnomusicological Perspectives. 1984.
ML3799.R38 2000
     Rault, L. Musical Instruments: A Worldwide Survey of Traditional Music-making. 2000.
ML3799.S5 1997
     Barz, G. Shadows in the Field: New Perspectives for Fieldwork in Ethnomusicology. 1997.
ML3845.C85 2003
     Clayton, M. The Cultural Study of Music: A Critical Introduction. 2003.
MT1.W93 1996
     Floyd, M. World Musics in Education. 1996.
MT90.E95 2004
     Nettl, B. Excursions in World Music. 2004.
PR1181.C5 2001 v.1-3
     Child, F. The English and Scottish Popular Ballads. 2001.

Scores

M2.A588 no.4 [NO CIRC]
     Wiora, W. European Folk Song: Common Forms in Characteristic Modifications.  1966
M2.A588 no.44 [NO CIRC]
     Schneider, M. Non-European Folklore and Art Music.  1972
M1627.L82 S6
     Luboff, N. Songs of Man: The International Book of Folk Songs. 1965.
M1627.S4 v.1-2
     Silverman, J. Jerry Silverman's Folk Song Encyclopedia. 1975.
M1629.L83 F6 1975
     Lomax, A. The Folk Songs of North America. 1975.
M1629.T44 F5
     Thede, M. The Fiddle Book; ... Including More than 150 Traditional Fiddle Tunes Compiled from Country     Fiddlers. 1967.
M1698.K37 F6 1964
     Karpeles, M. Folk Songs of Europe. 1964.
M1830.A2 M35
     Makeba, M. The World of African Song. 1971.


AUDIO-VISUAL RESOURCES

CD6487
     Smith, H. Anthology of American folk music. Social Music Vol. 2. 1997.
CD6494
     The Rough Guide to Australian Aboriginal Music. 1999.
CD6561
     Grey, M. Songs of France. 1998.
CD6689
     The Harry Smith Connection: A Live Tribute to The Anthology of American Folk Music. 1998.
CD7090
     World Anthems. 1996.
CD8190
     Peru and Bolivia: The Sounds of Evolving Traditions: Central Andean Music and Festivals. 1997.
CD8182-CD8200
     Music of the Earth. 1997-2001.
CD8223
     Globe Trot: Selections from Music of the Earth. 1998.
CD8453
     Boulton, L. The Eskimos of Hudson Bay and Alaska. 2000.
CD9287
     I'm on My Journey Home: Vocal Styles and Resources in Folk Music. 2002.
CD9415
     Oh My Little Darling: Folk Song Types. 2002.
CD9611
     Reed, A. Armenian Dances. 2002.
CD9618
     Dances. 1997.
CD11512
     Folk Music U.S.A. 2000.
CD12083-CD12087
     Music of the World’s Peoples. 2000.

Select Folk music titles from The New World Recorded Anthology of American Music

CD M1627.V64 1993
     Voices of Forgotten Worlds. 1993.
CD M1629.F683 v.1-4
     Folk Song America: A 20th Century Revival. 1991.
CD M1629.7.N57 D3 1995
     No. 292 Dark and Light in Spanish New Mexico. 1995.
CD M1629.B82 1995
     No. 239 Brave Boys: New England Traditions in Folk Music. 1995.
CD M1668.4.C35 1980
     No. 244 Caliente = Hot: Puerto Rican and Cuban Musical Expression in New York. 1980.
CD M1669.S65 1991
     No. 246 Songs of Earth, Water, Fire and Sky: Music of the American Indian. 1991.
CD M2117.W59 W5 1980
     No. 205 White Spirituals from The Sacred Harp. 1980.
CD M2122.G6 1994
     No. 294 The Gospel Ship: Baptist Hymns & White Spirituals from the Southern Mountains. 1994.
CD7910
     No. 270 Brother, Can You Spare a Dime? American Song during the Great Depression
CD9287
     No. 223 I'm on My Journey Home: Vocal Styles and Resources in Folk Music

DVD M1627.J3 2005 v.1-30
     JVC Video Anthology of World Music and Dance. 2005.
DVD M1670.L66 2001 (and CD)
     The Long Road to Freedom: An Anthology of Black Music. 2001.
DVD M1680.18.J3 2005 v.1-6
     JVC Smithsonian Folkways Video Anthology of Music and Dance of the Americas. 2005.
DVD M1698.J3 2005 v.1-2
     JVC Smithsonian Folkways Video Anthology of Music and Dance of Europe.  2005
DVD M1830.J3 2005 v.1-3
     JVC Smithsonian Folkways Video Anthology of Music and Dance of Africa.  2005
DVD M1834.R49 2000
     Rhythm of Resistance: The Black Music of South Africa. 2000.
DVD ML1751.C4 P47 2004
     Performing Arts of China: Instruments and Music. 2004.
DVD ML2911.C42 2003
     Chase the Devil: Religious Music of the Appalachian Mountains. 2003.
DVD ML3560.E8 D78 2007 v. 1-2
     The Drums of Winter: Uksuum cauyai. 2007.
DVD ML3551 .A542 2001 v. 1-4
     American Roots Music. 2001.
DVD ML3680.7.T9 G45 2000
     Genghis Blues. 2000.
DVD MT580.I75 2004
     Irish Rhythm Guitar:  Accompanying Celtic Tunes. 2004. 

** CDs and Videos by specific composers/performers can be found by doing an advanced search with the format limited to compact disc or video recording.


ONLINE RESOURCES

UT Song Index http://www.lib.utk.edu/music/songdb
Ethnomusicology OnLine http://research.umbc.edu/eol/
Dirty Linen Magazine http://www.dirtylinen.com
Folk Roots Magazine http://www.frootsmag.com
FolkBook: An Online Acoustic Music Establishment http://www.folkmusic.org
Music & Anthropology http://research.umbc.edu/eol/MA/index.htm
RootsWorld http://www.rootsworld.com/rw/

Also see:

DATABASES & INDEXES
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Grove Music
Music and Performing Arts Online (IIMP & IIPA)
Music Index Online

RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature
Smithsonian Global Sound

*Call numbers apply to UT held items only


University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Pauline Bayne and Connie Steigenga, Revised April 2008