Country Music *
The Music Genre Guides are designed for use by music faculty and students. Included in these guides are lists of call number ranges and subject headings for browsing/accessing books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings on different aspects of each genre. Online resources such as links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs are also included.
![]()
BROWSING AND CATALOG SEARCHING BY CALL NUMBER RANGES
Call Numbers
- ML420-421 Biographies of music performers (alphabetical); look for the performer by name
- ML3524 Country music --History & criticism
- ML3551 U. S. national music --History & criticism
- ML3187 Gospel music --History & criticism
Subject Headings
- BLUEGRASS MUSIC
- COUNTRY MUSIC
- COUNTRY MUSICIANS
- COUNTRY MUSICIANS, AFRICAN AMERICAN
- COUNTRY ROCK MUSIC
- FIDDLE TUNES
- GOSPEL MUSIC --ACCOMPANIMENTS
- GOSPEL MUSICIANS
- GUITAR MUSIC
- HONKY-TONK MUSIC
- OLD-TIME MUSIC
- ROCKABILLY MUSIC
- WESTERN SWING (MUSIC)
- WOMEN COUNTRY MUSICIANS
PRINT RESOURCES (in the Reference Room)
Reference Books
Ref ML19.O35 2nd 1994
The Official Country Music Directory. 1994.
Ref ML102.C7 C28 2003
Carlin, R. Country Music: A Biographical Dictionary. 2003.
Ref ML102.C7 C6 1994
The Comprehensive Country Music Encyclopedia. 1994.
Ref ML102.C7 E54 1998
The Encyclopedia of Country Music: The Ultimate Guide to the Music. 1998.
Ref ML102.C7 H37 1994
The Harmony Illustrated Encyclopedia of Country Music. 1994.
Ref ML102.C7 S7 1997
Stambler, I. Country Music: The Encyclopedia. 1997.
Ref ML156.4.C7 B58 1994
The Blackwell Guide to Recorded Country Music. 1994.
Ref ML156.4.C7 R64 1991
Roland, T. The Billboard Book of Number One Country Hits. 1991.
Ref ML156.4.C7 R87 2004
Russell, Tony. Country Music Records: A Discography, 1921-1942. 2004.
Ref ML156.4.C7 W5 2002
Whitburn, Joel. Top Country Singles, 1944 to 2001: Chart Data Compiled from Billboard’s Country Singles Charts, 1944-2001. 2002.
Ref ML156.4.F5 M43 2002
Meade, Guthrie T. Country Music Sources: A Biblio-discography of Commercially Recorded Traditional Music. 2002.
Ref ML3524.D45 1984
Dellar, F. The Country Music Book of Lists. 1984.
Journals
Guitar Player ML1.G85
Journal of Country Music ML1.J58
Popular Music ML3469 .P66
Popular Music & Society ML1 .P69457
Directories
Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts - REF. STACKS – ML13.M83 2005.
***Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.
SELECT PRINT RESOURCES (in the Stacks)
ML385.F67 1998
Foster, P. My Country: The African Diaspora's Country Music Heritage. 1998.
ML385.S73
Malone, B. Stars of Country Music. 1975.
ML385.W64 2001
Wolfe, C. Classic Country: Legends of Country Music. 2001.
ML395.K53 2003
Kienzle, R. Southwest Shuffle: Pioneers of Honky-Tonk, Western Swing, and Country Jazz. 2003.
ML395.P53 1998
Pierce, J. Playin' Around: The Lives and Careers of Famous Session Musicians. 1998.
ML400.G73 2002
Green, D. Singing in the Saddle: The History of the Singing Cowboy. 2002.
ML3507.H46 2000
Hentoff, N. Listen to the Stories: Nat Hentoff on Jazz and Country Music. 2000.
ML3520.C36 2003
Cantwell, R. Bluegrass Breakdown: The Making of the Old Southern Sound. 2003.
ML3520.F6 2001
Fleischhauer, C. Bluegrass Odyssey: a Documentary in Pictures and Words. 2001.
ML3520.J64 1998
Johnson, B. Inside Bluegrass: 20 Years of Bluegrass Photography. 1998.
ML3520.W55 1998
Willis, B. America's Music, Bluegrass. 1998.
ML3524.B83 2003
Bufwack, M. Finding Her Voice: Women in Country Music 1800-2000. 2003.
ML3524.C328 1995
Carr, J. Prairie Nights to Neon Lights: The Story of Country Music in West Texas. 1995.
ML3524.C54 2001
Ching, B. Wrong's What I Do Best: Hard Country Music and Contemporary Culture. 2001.
ML3524.D64 2000
Doggett, P. Are You Ready for the Country. 2000.
ML3524.E45 1998
Emery, R. The View From Nashville. 1998.
ML3524.E5 1987
Endres, C. Austin City Limits. 1987.
ML3524.F756 2003
Friskics-Warren, B. Heartaches by the Number: Country Music's 500 Greatest Singles. 2003.
ML3524.H28 1999
Haslam, G. Workin' Man Blues: Country Music in California. 1999.
ML3524.M34 2002
Malone, B. Country Music, U.S.A. 2002.
ML3524.M344 2002
Don't Get Above Your Raisin': Country Music and the Southern Working Class. 2002.
ML3524.M53 1993
Millard, B. Country Music: 70 Years of America's Favorite Music. 1993.
ML3524.P48 1997
Peterson, R. Creating Country Music: Fabricating Authenticity. 1997.
ML3524.W64 1999
Wolfe, C. A Good-Natured Riot: The Birth of the Grand Ole Opry. 1999.
ML3551.M25 1975
Malone, B. Country Music U.S.A. 1975.
ML3551.M26 1993
Singing Cowboys and Musical Mountaineers: Southern Culture and the Roots of Country Music. 1993.
ML3561.C69A44 1993
All That Glitters: Country Music in America. 1993.
ML3790.D28 1998
Daley, D. Nashville's Unwritten Rules: Inside the Business of Country Music. 1998.
AUDIO-VISUAL RESOURCES
CD M1630.18 .C5388 1990 v.1-4
Classic Country Music: A Smithsonian Collection. 1990.
CD M1630.18.H4751-4755 1996
Heroes of Country Music vol. 1-5. 1996.
CD & Book ML3524.T5 1994
Tichi, C. High Lonesome: The American Culture of Country Music. 1994.
VHS M40.N49 1995
New England Fiddles: Playing Down the Devil. 1995.
DVD M1630.18 .B47 2007 v.1-2
Best of the Flatt & Scruggs TV show: Classic Bluegrass from 1956 to 1962. 2007.
DVD M1630.18 .C588 1998
Country Music Classics with Webb Pierce and Chet Atkins. 1998.
DVD M1630.18.T58 2000
Times Ain't Like They Used to Be: Early Rural Popular American Music. 2000.
DVD ML400 .S58 2007b
Shut up & Sing: Dixie Chicks. 2007.
DVD ML2075 .D69 2000
Down from the Mountain. 2000.
VHS ML3551.A7
Appalachian Journey: From the Original Ballad of Tom Dooley to the Origins of Bluegrass. 1990.
DVD PN1992.77.J646 J646 2007b
The Best of the Johnny Cash TV Show, 1969-1971. 2007.
** CDs and Videos by specific composers/performers can be found by doing an advanced search with the format limited to compact disc or video recording.
ONLINE RESOURCES
Academy of Country Music http://www.acmcountry.com/
Country Music Association http://www.cmaworld.com/
Cybergrass The Internet Bluegrass Magazine http://www.cybergrass.com/
The Old-Time Music Home Page http://www.oldtimemusic.com/
Roughstock's History of Country Music http://www.roughstock.com/history/
Yahoo! Directory - Country Music http://dir.yahoo.com/Entertainment/Music/Genres/Country/
Also see:
DATABASES & INDEXES
Grove Music
Music and Performing Arts Online (IIMP & IIPA)
Music Index Online
RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
*Call numbers apply to UT held items only
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Pauline Bayne and Connie Steigenga, Revised April 2008

