Trombone
The Literature and Pedagogy Guides are designed for use by music performance and pedagogy faculty and students. Included in these guides are listing of call number ranges and subject headings for browsing/accessing books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings by specific instruments, family of instruments, and major ensembles. Online resources such as links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs are also included.
![]()
BROWSING AND CATALOG SEARCHING BY CALL NUMBER RANGES
Call Numbers
- M90-M94 Trombone alone
- M262 Trombone and piano, original
- M263 Arrangements for trombone and piano
- M1032 Trombone with orchestra (full score)
- M1033 Trombone with orchestra (piano reduction)
- M1132 Trombone with string orchestra (full score)
- M1133 Trombone with string orchestra (piano reduction)
- ML128.T76 Trombone music–Bibliography
- ML128.W5 Wind instrument music–Bibliography
- ML965-ML968 General: history and construction; music and playing
- MT460-MT468 Trombone techniques
- MT801.T67 Instruction and study for children
Subject Headings
- CONCERTOS (TROMBONE)
- CONCERTOS (TROMBONE) –SOLO WITH PIANO
- SONATAS (TROMBONE), SONATAS (TROMBONE AND PIANO), SONATAS (TROMBONE AND _____)
- SUITES (TROMBONE) - INCLUDES ALL CASSATIONS, DIVERTIMENTI, NOCTURNES, PARTITAS, AND SERENADES
- TROMBONE
- TROMBONE--HISTORY
- TROMBONE--INSTRUCTION AND STUDY
- TROMBONE--STUDIES AND EXERCISES
- TROMBONE--METHODS
- TROMBONE--ORCHESTRA STUDIES
- TROMBONE--PERIODICALS
- TROMBONE MUSIC
- TROMBONE AND PIANO MUSIC
- TROMBONE MUSIC--BIBLIOGRAPHY
- TROMBONE MUSIC--DISCOGRAPHY
PRINT RESOURCES (in the Reference Room)
Reference Books
Lane, G. B. (George B.). The trombone :an annotated bibliography. -- Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1999. – Ref ML128.T76 L36 1999
Bahr, Edward R. Trombone/euphonium discography. -- Stevens Point, Wis. : Index House, 1988. – Ref ML156.4.T7 B3 1988
Kagarice, Vern. Solos for the student trombonist :an annotated bibliography. -- [Nashville, Tenn.] : Brass Press, 1979. – Ref ML132.T76 S6
Arling, Harry J., Trombone chamber music :an annotated bibliography. -- Nashville : Brass Press, c1978. – Ref ML128.T76 A7
Everett, Thomas G. Annotated guide to bass trombone literature. -- Nashville : Brass Press, 1978. – Ref ML128.T76 E9 1978
Kagarice, Vern. Annotated guide to trombone solos with band and orchestra. -- Lebanon, Ind. : Studio Publications Recordings, c1974. – Ref ML128.T7 K3
Brown, Leon F. Handbook of selected literature for the study of trombone at the university-college level. -- Denton, Tex., North Texas State University [c1972]. – Ref ML132.T7 B76 1972
Journals
International Trombone Association - ITA journal. – REF. (CURRENT PERIODICALS) ML1 .I86
Also See:
Jazz education journal. – REF. (CURRENT PERIODICALS) ML1 .N37
Jazz improv. – REF. (CURRENT PERIODICALS) ML3505.8 .J3995
Directories
Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts - REF. STACKS – ML13.M83 2005.
***Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.
AUDIO-VISUAL RESOURCES
Steps to excellence [videorecording] :a trombone clinic /presented by Donald Knaub ; introduction by James F. Herendeen. -- Grand Rapids, Mich. : Musical Instrument Division, Yamaha International Corp. [Production Company], 1985. – Music Library Videocassette in stacks MT460 .S8
The Canadian Brass live! :[videorecording] / produced by Bernard Gurtman, James Martha ; directed by Mike Price. -- [S.l.] : Gurtman & Murtha, 1986. - Music Library Videocassette in stacks M555.C3 C3
ONLINE RESOURCES
Online Trombone Journal – http://www.trombone.org
International Trombone Association – http://www.trombone.net
Trombone USA Online – http://www.trombone-usa.com
Trombones Online – http://www.trombonesonline.com
Jazz Trombone History – http://www.jazztrombonehistory.com
ITF – International Trombone Festival – http://www.trombonefestival.net
Trombone Lessons Online – http://www.trombonelessons.com
*Call numbers apply to UT held items only
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Pauline Bayne and Nathalie Hristov, Revised August 2007

