Viola
The Literature and Pedagogy Guides are designed for use by music performance and pedagogy faculty and students. Included in these guides are listing of call number ranges and subject headings for browsing/accessing books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings by specific instruments, family of instruments, and major ensembles. Online resources such as links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs are also included.
![]()
BROWSING AND CATALOG SEARCHING BY CALL NUMBER RANGES
Call Numbers
- M45-M49 Viola alone
- M224-M226 Viola and piano, original
- M227-M228 Arrangements for viola and piano
- M1014 Viola with orchestra (full score)
- M1015 Viola with orchestra (piano reduction)
- M1114 Viola with string orchestra (full score)
- M1115 Viola with string orchestra (piano reduction)
- ML128.V36 Viola music–Bibliography
- ML128.S7 String instrument music–Bibliography
- ML132.V36 Viola music-Graded lists
- ML900-ML905 General: history and construction; music and playing
- MT280-MT298 Viola techniques
- MT760-MT778 Instruction and study for children
Subject Headings
- CONCERTOS (VIOLA)
- CONCERTOS (VIOLA) –SOLO WITH PIANO.
- SONATAS (VIOLA), SONATAS (VIOLA AND CONTINUO), SONATAS (VIOLA AND PIANO)
- SUITES (VIOLA), etc. (NOTE: THE SUBJECT TERM SUITES IS USED FOR ALL DIVERTIMENTI, CASSATIONS, PARTITAS, NOCTURNES, SERENADES, etc.)
- SUITES (VIOLA WITH ORCHESTRA)—SOLO WITH PIANO
- VIOLA
- VIOLA--INSTRUCTION AND STUDY
- VIOLA--ORCHESTRAL EXCERPTS
- VIOLA--STUDIES AND EXERCISES
- VIOLA AND HARPSICHORD MUSIC
- VIOLA AND PIANO MUSIC
- VIOLA AND PIANO MUSIC, ARRANGED
- VIOLA MUSIC
- VIOLA WITH ORCHESTRA—SOLO WITH PIANO
- SONATAS (VIOLA)
- SUITES (VIOLA) - INCLUDES ALL CASSATIONS, DIVERTIMENTI, NOCTURNES, PARTITAS, AND SERENADES
PRINT RESOURCES (in the Reference Room)
Reference Books
Wilkins, Wayne. The Index of Viola Music. Magnolia, AR: The Music Register, 1976. ***Selections only – many significant works not listed (includes chamber works).
-
REF. STACKS – ML128.V3W5.
Williams, Michael D. Music for Viola. Detroit Studies in Music Bibliography, N.42. Detroit, MI: Information Coordinators, 1979. ***Far more comprehensive than previous entry. Only includes works with prominent viola role.
-
REF. STACKS - ML111.D48 No.42.
Zeyringer, Franz. Literatur für Viola. Hartberg: Verlag Julius Schönwetter, 1963.
-
REF. STACKS – ML128.V36 Z5.
Journals
American String Teacher – REF. (CURRENT PERIODICALS) ML27.U5A8356
The Strad – REF. (CURRENT PERIDICALS)ML800.S87
String Magazine – REF. (CURRENT PERIODICALS)ML749.5 .S87
Also see:
International Musician – REF. (CURRENTY PERIODICALS) ML1.I8
Symphony Magazine –REF. (CURRENT PERIODICALS) ML1.A7283
Directories
Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts - REF. STACKS – ML13.M83 2005.
***Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.
AUDIO-VISUAL RESOURCES
Alʹto vai͡a sonata [videorecording] : Dmitriĭ Shostakovich = Sonata for viola = Sonate pour alto / Leningradskai͡a studii͡a dokumentalʹnykh filʹmov ; avtor st͡senarii͡a, Boris Dobrodeev ; rezhissery, Semen Aranovich, Aleksandr Sokurov.
-DVD. Ask at desk: ML410 .S56 A48 2005
Master teacher series with Donald McInnes [videorecording] / produced and directed by Charles Avsharian
–DVD. Ask at desk: MT280 .M37 2005
William Primrose [videorecording] : recital / a presentation of KBYU-TV and Brigham Young University Department of Music ; produced and directed by Mark D. Collier.
-
DVD. Ask at desk: ML418 .P75 .R43 2005
ONLINE RESOURCES
American Viola Society – http://www.americanviolasociety.com
Also see:
American Federation of Musicians – http://www.afm.org
American String Teachers Association - http://www.astaweb.com
Music Teachers National Association – http://www.mtna.org
*Call numbers apply to UT held items only
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Pauline Bayne and Nathalie Hristov, Revised August 2007

